Monday, October 20, 2014
Village Creek only 99 more to go
Village Creek was a family affair. My family (hubs, kids and myself) along with my sister in laws family (husband and 2 kids) went to Village Creek on May 16th. The campsite was perfect, complete perfection. Here is the link to their website http://www.arkansasstateparks.com/villagecreek/ I cannot remember the site number that we had but I must tell you it was perfect. It was right across from the bathrooms on the right hand side. What made this campsite perfect was the size of the site and the fact that behind it was a trail that went to the lake. A five minute little hike would take you to a perfect little spot to sit and drink coffee. Walking to the little spot was my refuge. When the kids were playing a little too loud I would sneak off. My mother and father in law came up to the campsite and brought the essentials. You know beer, bread and something else. I only remember the beer. We ate steak and cuscus and drank mass qualities of beer. It was a mighty fine meal. My mother in law, sister in law and myself walked down the little path and took a little time to enjoy the lakeside spot and chat. My mother in law walked the puppy with the leash thank God. My frustration level was a little high with the dog. He kept getting all tangled up in the leash and I was getting pissed. I cannot threaten the dog like I can my children. He looks at me like I am stupid and acts like he cannot understand me....I know he can. I keep telling him he needs to get a job and pull his weight around the house, but I digress. My mother and father in law stayed to for a little while and we all laughed and had a great time. They left and the kids started winding down. Shortly thereafter the hubs and my brother in law went to bed. My sister in law and I stayed up and drank the rest of the beer. We were a little inebriated....ok, we were pretty shit faced. We proceeded to go out into the woods to find wood to burn. We found a HUGE tree that had fallen down and drug it up to the camp fire and threw it into the fire. We felt VERY manly until the next morning where I proceeded to puke my guts up in the woods. Yep, I even lost my cell phone. It was bad.
That same day we went on a 2 1/2 mile hike and ate lunch while we were hiking. My sister in law came up with the idea of picking up all the trash from the trail while we walked back. It was a great idea but it was sad to see the amount of trash that people were throwing out because they were too lazy to take it to a trash can. The hike was great. The kids were acting great and the adults were getting exercise. I wasn't nauseous anymore. I felt much better. Thank God all the beer was gone. Village creek was great.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment